Luther Decade 2008 – 2017

Themenjahre der Lutherdekade

The Luther Decade designates the 10 years from the starting gun in 2008 until the anniversary of the Reformation in 2017.

Tradition has it that Martin Luther nailed his 95 theses to the door of the Schlosskirche (Castle Church) in Wittenberg on 31.10.1517. In doing so, he launched a movement that would fundamentally change the Church and society. 500 years later, in 2017, the Evangelical churches of the world will celebrate this event and thank God for his mercy.

Celebrations in the lead-up to the anniversary of the Reformation

Luther 2017 Logo

The Evangelical Church of Germany initiated the Luther Decade on 21.09.2008, 500 years after Luther started teaching at the University of Wittenberg. Over the course of 10 years, significant themes of the Reformation will be the focus of events, exhibitions, and congresses. Every year the decade is dedicated to a selected subject with information on it provided to those interested in Lutherstadt Wittenberg and other participating towns in Germany and around the world. The themes are constructed in such a way that visitors to the events can delve into the Reformation itself and also its significance in modern times.

Theme years in the Luther Decade

2017 l Anniversary of the Reformation

The Luther Decade will become international on the anniversary of the Reformation. The Reformation is to be remembered and discussed throughout Europe, the good and bad sides to it identified, and important staging-posts in the history of the Reformation illuminated. The contents of preceding theme years will recur in numerous events. The German Evangelical Church Day and the World Exhibition on the Reformation in Wittenberg will form highlights of the anniversary. The Path of Staging-Posts across Europe will unite towns directly involved in spreading the ideas of the Reformation beyond Germany's borders.

2016 l The Reformation and One World

In the theme year of 2016, visitors will be acquainted with the global impact of Luther and the Reformation. Luther's nailing of his theses to the church door had ramifications across the world which can still be felt today. There are now over 400 million Protestants spread throughout the world who influence and shape their environment on a daily basis. But how unified is the Evangelical Church? Where does it stand on globalization and the changes associated with it? You can visit various events in and around Wittenberg dedicated to this and other subjects.

2015 l The Reformation - Art and the Bible

The 500th anniversary of the birth of the famous Wittenberg painter, Lucas Cranach the Younger, served as an opportunity to assign the theme of Art and the Bible to 2015. The start of the 16th century is not only an important date for the Reformation but also marks the beginning of a new media age. The invention of printing made it possible to make Luther's translation of the Bible accessible even to the less educated classes. The technology of printing was also used by Cranach's art workshop for reproducing woodcuts, images, and flyers which helped to spread the translation of the Bible and the ideas behind the Reformation. The connection between art, the Bible, and the Reformation therefore forms the focus of events in 2015.

» Read more

2014 l The Reformation and Politics

Today, there is a separation between Church and State, at least in most parts of the world. This is a direct consequence of the Reformation which split the Church and cast doubt on its pre-eminence. The central question of the 2014 theme year in the Luther Decade was, to what extent faith and the Church influence or should influence politics. Furthermore, the connection between the views of the reformers and the questioning of authority was explored.

2013 | Reformation and Tolerance

The Catholic Church as Martin Luther knew it, did not display much tolerance. However, Luther was convinced of God's mercy and wanted to reflect this conviction in his faith. The aspiration of the Evangelical Church today is to achieve an ecumenical community with no national or confessional borders. How tolerant evangelical faith really is and to what extent the Reformation contributed to freedom of religion and expression, was explored and debated in numerous events.

2012 | The Reformation and Music

The reciprocal influence of music and the Reformation cannot be denied. The new faith was anchored in the conviction that everyone should be able to read and understand the Bible. This was achieved partly through a new musical culture which incorporated congregational singing as part of the church service. More and more songs were written for this purpose in the Reformation years until the present day. Songs which were intended to strengthen faith and encourage people to address the issues raised by their religion. Well-known composers such as Bach, Schütz, Telemann, and Handel contributed to this development.

2011 | The Reformation and Freedom

The notion of freedom is considered to represent the origin of the Reformation. Even Luther himself changed his birth name of Luder and modeled it after the Greek word for freedom. The freedom of the individual is a core concept of the Reformation as only a responsible, free Christian can decide for God of his own free will. But where does freedom start and where does it end? How free is man really? What role does religion play today in promoting freedom? These questions were discussed in various events in the fourth year of the Luther Decade.

2010 | The Reformation and Education

One treasured tenet, if not the most important one of the Reformation, is public access to the Bible for all believers. Every person should have access to the Bible and be able to read and understand it themselves. As a result of this belief, there was a call for education for everybody as many people, especially in the lower classes, were unable to read or write and until then had been dependent on the interpretations of the Church. The 2010 theme year of the Luther Decade was also a commemorative year for Philipp Melanchthon which fitted the theme as he was known primarily as an educational reformer and author of what is still today the most important confessional statement of all evangelical churches, the "Augsburg Confession".

2009 | The Reformation and Confession

The twin focuses for 2009 were based on two different anniversaries. On the one hand, 2009 was the 500th anniversary of the reformer Johannes Calvin. His teachings, writings and thoughts had a major influence on the spread of the Reformation. On the other, it also saw the commemoration of the 75th anniversary of the Theological Declaration of Barmen. With this confession, the evangelical confessing synod of Wuppertal-Barmen took a stand against the prevailing national socialist ethos and the Nazi-friendly legalistic Church regime. To this day, the confession contained in the Theological Declaration of Barmen forms a core document in Evangelical teaching.

2008 | Opening of the Luther Decade

The opening year of the Luther Decade was dedicated mainly to the personality of Martin Luther. The focus was on the life and work of the reformer who 500 years previously had come to Lutherstadt Wittenberg to teach at the university, and the effect he has had on modern times.

Lutherdekade 2008 - 2017

Lutherjahr 2017

Die Lutherdekade bezeichnet die 10 Jahre vom Startschuss 2008 bis zum Reformationsjubiläum 2017.

Am 31.10.1517 schlug Martin Luther seine 95 Thesen laut Überlieferung an die Schlosskirche Wittenberg. Damit brachte er ein Ereignis in Gang, welches die Kirche wie auch die Gesellschaft von Grund auf verändern würde. Im Jahr 2017, 500 Jahre später, feiern die evangelischen Kirchen der Welt dieses Ereignis und danken Gott für seine Gnade.

Feierlichkeiten auf dem Weg zum Reformationsjubiläum

Luther 2017 Logo

Am 21.09.2008 startete die Evangelische Kirche Deutschland in die Lutherdekade, 500 Jahre nachdem Luther seine Lehre an der Universität in Wittenberg begann. 10 Jahre lang werden wichtige Themen der Reformation in kulturellen Veranstaltungen, Ausstellungen und Kongressen behandelt. Jedes Jahr der Dekade steht unter einem ausgewählten Thema, zu dem Interessierte sich in Lutherstadt Wittenberg und anderen teilnehmenden Städten Deutschlands und der Welt informieren können. Die Themen sind dabei so gefasst, dass sich die Teilnehmer der Veranstaltungen sowohl mit der Reformation an sich als auch mit der Bedeutung der Reformation in der heutigen Zeit befassen können.

Themenjahre der Lutherdekade

2017 l Reformationsjubiläum

Zum Reformationsjubiläum wird die Lutherdekade international. In ganz Europa soll der Reformation gedacht und über sie gesprochen werden, die guten wie die weniger guten Seiten aufgezeigt und wichtige Stationen der Reformationsgeschichte beleuchtet werden. Die Inhalte der vorangegangenen Themenjahre werden sich auf zahlreichen Veranstaltungen wiederfinden. Höhepunkte werden der Deutsche Evangelische Kirchentag sowie die Weltausstellung Reformation in Wittenberg sein. Der Europäische Stationenweg verbindet Städte miteinander, die am Bekanntwerden des Reformationsgedanken außerhalb von Deutschland unmittelbar beteiligt waren.

2016 l Reformation und die Eine Welt

Im Themenjahr 2016 wird den Besuchern die globale Wirkung Martin Luthers und der Reformation nähergebracht. Luthers Thesenanschlag hatte Auswirkungen auf die gesamte Welt, die auch heute noch spürbar sind. Mittlerweile leben über 400 Millionen Protestanten auf dem Globus verteilt, die tagtäglich ihre Umgebung beeinflussen und verändern. Doch wie einig ist sich die evangelische Kirche? Wie geht sie mit der Globalisierung und einhergehenden Veränderungen um? Zu diesen und anderen Themen können Sie verschiedene Veranstaltungen in und um Wittenberg besuchen.

» Mehr zum Themenjahr 2016

2015 l Reformation - Bild und Bibel

Der 500. Geburtstag des berühmten Wittenberger Malers Lucas Cranach dem Jüngeren diente als Anlass das Jahr 2015 unter das Motto Bild und Bibel zu stellen. Der Anfang des 16. Jahrhunderts ist nicht nur für die Reformation ein wichtiges Datum, sondern markiert auch den Beginn eines neuen medialen Zeitalters. Die Erfindung des Buchdrucks ermöglichte es, Luthers Bibelübersetzung auch den niedrigeren Bildungsschichten zugänglich zu machen. Die Technik des Buchdrucks wurde auch von Cranachs Malwerkstatt für die Vervielfältigung von Holzschnitten, Bildnissen und Flugblättern genutzt, die die Ausbreitung der Bibelübersetzung und des Reformationsgedanken unterstützten. Der Zusammenhang zwischen Bild, Bibel und Reformation ist daher der Fokus der Veranstaltungen im Jahr 2015.

» Mehr zum Themenjahr 2015

2014 l Reformation und Politik

In der heutigen Zeit herrscht, zumindest in den meisten Teilen der Welt, eine Trennung von Kirche und Staat. Dies ist eine direkte Folge der Reformation, die die Kirche spaltete und deren Vorherrschaft anzweifelte. Die zentrale Frage des Themenjahres 2014 der Lutherdekade war, inwieweit der Glaube und die Kirche Einfluss auf die Politik haben bzw. haben sollten. Des Weiteren wurde der Zusammenhang zwischen den Ansichten der Reformatoren und dem Infragestellen der Obrigkeit diskutiert.

2013 | Reformation und Toleranz

Die katholische Kirche, wie Martin Luther sie kannte, konnte wenig Toleranz vorweisen. Luther aber war sich eines barmherzigen Gottes sicher und wollte diese Überzeugung in seinem Glauben widerspiegeln. Der heutige Anspruch der evangelischen Kirche ist eine ökumenische Gemeinschaft ohne nationale und konfessionelle Grenzen. Wie tolerant der evangelische Glaube tatsächlich ist und inwiefern die Reformation zur Glaubens- und Meinungsfreiheit beigetragen hat, wurde in zahlreichen Veranstaltungen hinterfragt und debattiert.

2012 | Reformation und Musik

Der gegenseitige Einfluss von Musik und Reformation ist nicht zu leugnen. Der neue Glaube war verankert in der Überzeugung, dass jeder die Bibel lesen und verstehen können sollte. Dies wurde auch über die neue Musikkultur geschafft, die den Gemeindegesang als Teil des Gottesdienstes in sich aufnahm. Zu diesem Zweck wurden in den Reformationsjahren und bis in die heutige Zeit immer neue Lieder geschrieben, die den Glauben stärken und die Auseinandersetzung mit ihm fördern sollen. Dazu beigetragen haben bekannte Komponisten wie Bach, Schütz, Telemann oder Händel.

2011 | Reformation und Freiheit

Der Freiheitsgedanke gilt als Ursprung der Reformation. Schon Luther selbst änderte seinen Geburtsnamen Luder in Anlehnung an das griechische Wort für Freiheit um. Die Freiheit des Einzelnen ist ein Kerngedanke der Reformation, denn nur ein mündiger, freier Christ kann sich eigenständig für Gott entscheiden. Doch wo fängt die Freiheit an und wo hört sie auf? Wie frei ist der Mensch tatsächlich? Welche Rollen spielt die Religion heute zur Förderung der Freiheit? Diese Fragen wurden im vierten Jahr der Lutherdekade bei verschiedenen Veranstaltungen diskutiert.

2010 | Reformation und Bildung

Ein wertvolles Credo, wenn nicht das wichtigste der Reformation ist der öffentliche Zugang der Bibel für alle Gläubigen. Jeder Mensch sollte Zugang zur Bibel haben und sie selber lesen und verstehen können. Daraus resultierend kam auch der Ruf nach Bildung für alle auf, da viele Menschen vor allem der niedrigeren Stände nicht lesen und schreiben konnten und bis dahin auf die Auslegungen der Kirche angewiesen waren. Das Themenjahr 2010 der Lutherdekade war passend zum Thema auch ein Gedenkjahr für Philipp Melanchthon, der vor allem als Bildungsreformer und Autor der bis heute wichtigsten Bekenntnisschrift aller evangelischen Kirchen bekannt wurde, der „Augsburger Bekenntnis“.

2009 | Reformation und Bekenntnis

Den zwei Themenschwerpunkten des Jahres 2009 lagen zwei verschiedene Jubiläen zugrunde. Zum einen war das Jahr 2009 das 500. Jubiläum des Reformators Johannes Calvin. Seine Lehren, Schriften und Gedanken hatten einen großen Einfluss auf die Ausbreitung der Reformation. Gleichzeitig wurde dem 75. Jubiläum der Barmer Theologischen Erklärung gedacht. Mit dem Bekenntnis stellte sich die evangelische Bekenntnissynode von Wuppertal-Barmen gegen den vorherrschenden nationalsozialistischen Gedanken und das nazifreundliche Rechtskirchenregiment. Bis heute ist das Bekenntnis der Barmer Theologischen Erklärung ein Kerndokument der evangelischen Lehre.

2008 | Eröffnung der Lutherdekade

Das Eröffnungsjahr der Lutherdekade beschäftigte sich vor allem mit der Persönlichkeit Martin Luther. Im Mittelpunkt standen das Leben und Wirken des Reformators, der 500 Jahre zuvor in die Lutherstadt Wittenberg kam um an der Universität zu lehren, und seine Wirkung auf die heutige Zeit.